ETS logo
Auckland logo
 

Opportunities

Membership Renewal 2018


Membership Renewal

ETS needs your support which you can give by renewing or by becoming a new financial member, attending the shows and participating in our productions in the areas of activity outlined on the membership form. The membership year is from the 1 January to 31 December each year.

As a member you will:
Receive regular newsletters and audition notices.
Be able to participate in ETS plays and social functions.
Receive a discount on ticket purchases.
Support your local, non-profit, theatrical society.

Membership Categories/Fees:
Student $10.00
Adult $20.00
Senior Citizen $10.00

You can pay via internet banking (instructions in membership form) or post a cheque to Treasurer, ETS, 40 Michaels Ave, Ellerslie, Auckland 1051. If you are interested or willing to participate in any aspect of the theatre, please let us know by ticking or adding your interest on the membership form.

You can download our membership form here.

Help With Set Building 2018


HELP WITH SET BUILDING IN 2018

The dates for set builds for 2018 are listed below.

You don’t need tools – though it could help if you can bring a battery-powered drill and any other small tools you own. You do need a willingness to do two things: first, to work on producing high-quality stage sets; and, second, to join in discussions and to put forward your own ideas on how best to achieve our aims.

The set builds are on Saturdays, starting from 9am and going on to around 5pm. You don’t have to work all those hours. Any time you can put in is great, although you should know that we generally stop around 12:30pm for lunch prepared and supplied by ETS, so you won’t want to miss that.

We’re a friendly bunch of people with varying skill levels, and the set builds are both challenging and fun. If you can come, email David Blakey davidblakey@gmail.com or text/call 027 495 3794 in advance, so that we can plan the day – and include you in the lunch.

The set build dates for 2018 are:

Feb/Mar 2018 - The Witches
Saturday 17 February
Saturday 24 February
Saturday 3 March
Saturday 10 March
Pack-out Sunday 25 March

May/June 2018 - The House of Angels
Saturday 12 May
Saturday 19 May
Saturday 26 May
Saturday 2 June & Sunday 3 June
Pack-out Sunday 17 June

July/August 2018 - Beautiful Thing
Saturday 28 July
Saturday 4 August
Saturday 11 August
Saturday 18 August
Pack-out Sunday 2 September

Oct/Nov 2018 The Lady in the Van
Saturday 13 October
Saturday 20 October & Sunday 21 October
Saturday 27 October
Saturday 3 November
Pack-out Sunday 18 November



Ellerslie Festival of One-Act Plays 2019


Ellerslie Festival of One-Act Plays 2019 — 22 to 31 August 2019

The ETS One-Act Play Festival has provided playwrights with an opportunity to see their work leap from page to stage and new directors the chance to be mentored through the production process. Submissions are now open for the sixth biennial Festival in 2019.

Invitation to Directors
. Have you ever thought about directing a play but never had the chance?
. Are you an experienced director who would like the challenge of a one act play?
. Are you a drama student looking for an opportunity to practice what you've learnt?
. Are you an actor who wants to give directing a go?
. Have you written a One Act Play that you would like to direct or have someone else direct?

ETS is now inviting applications from experienced and new directors for the Ellerslie Festival of One-Act Plays 2019. Application forms and criteria can be downloaded from this link.

Criteria
. Performances must be between twenty and forty minutes duration.
. Preference will be given to new plays, emerging directors or established directors mentoring emerging directors.

Entries must be received by 28 February 2019 – please post entries to the Secretary, Ellerslie Theatrical Society, PO Box 11432, Ellerslie 1542 or email to info@ellerslietheatre.co.nz.

If you require further information or need assistance with the application please email info@ellerslietheatre.co.nz.

Call for Directors 2019 and 2020


Call for Directors 2019 and 2020

Applications are invited from Directors who would like to present a play, or selection of plays, to be considered for the Ellerslie Theatrical Society 2019 and 2020 seasons.  Applications close on Saturday 22 June 2018.  Expressions of interest are also invited to direct the Christmas Float in 2019 and the first play of 2020.

Tentative dates are:

Christmas Float 2018
Sunday 2 December

Main Bill 1 - 2019
Season 14 to 23 March
Audition Saturday 10 November 2018
Rehearsals start Sunday 6 January 2019

Main Bill 2 - 2019
Season 6 to 15 June
Audition Saturday 16 March 2019
Rehearsals start Sunday 31 March 2019

Main Bill 3 - 2019 The Ellerslie Festival of One Act Plays 2019
Season 22 to 31 August
Auditions Saturday 8 June 2019
Rehearsals start Monday 17 June 2019

Main Bill 4 - 2019
Season 7 to 16 November
Audition Saturday 24 August 2019
Rehearsals start Tuesday 3 September 2018

Christmas Float 2019
Sunday 1 December

Main Bill 1 - 2020
Season 12 to 21 March 2020
Audition Saturday 9 November 2019
Rehearsals start Sunday 5 January 2020

If you wish to direct a play at ETS, please download our application form. Or for more information email info@ellerslietheatre.co.nz.





Informal Play Reading - Wednesday 20th June 2018


Informal Play Reading Evening

This informal group meets periodically to give members the opportunity to read or listen to both complete plays, and interesting excerpts. New participants are welcome, and play suggestions are also invited.

The next informal play reading group will meet on Wednesday the 20th of June 2018

address:
Rona Colbert
40 Michaels Ave
Ellerslie

at:
7.30pm

play:
The reading will be Over the River and Through the Woods, a comedy written by Joe DiPietro.

Plot Summary
A young, carefree, single bachelor in New Jersey spends nearly every Sunday afternoon visiting and dining with either of his two sets of grandparents, who are ethnic Italians. One Thursday he makes an unscheduled visit to announce that his corporate employer will be promoting and relocating him to Seattle, Washington in a few months. His grandparents are shocked and attempt matchmaking by inviting an eligible young woman to join them at the next dinner in the hope the two will bond and their beloved grandson will decide to remain in the area.

There are plenty of parts for readers, and listeners are also most welcome.

RSVP for numbers or enquiries to Jocelyn McQuaid 09 626 3070 (jossmcq@slingshot.co.nz). Taking a little something for supper would be appreciated.